|
|||||||
| Huxley General This is the Huxley general discussion area where most talk regarding Huxley is done. Sub Forums: Huxley PC Forum - Huxley Xbox 360 Forum |
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
|
|
#42 (permalink) |
|
Senior Member
![]() Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mental Hospital
Posts: 660
![]() |
Yeah pretty much, when you posted it was 6 hours ago, i just went to check all the forums and da "official" was still down. I think they willl wipe all accounts on that website, improve it and make it official for everybody on webzen.
__________________
Provide solid evidence to convince me otherwise! |
|
|
|
|
|
#43 (permalink) |
|
Training Grounds
![]() Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 8
![]() |
If anyone is still not sure about whether those were really the official forums (especially now that they are offline)...
When I registered at huxleyvs.com/huxleyversus.com I later received an email with the subject: "Account validated at Huxley Forums!" It contained some information about the account I had created and let me know the account is now active/validated. I checked the headers on it which appeared as such: Received: from [66.251.34.90] (helo=WZA-D-001.us.webzen.com) by [My Web Server was Here] with esmtp (Exim 4.63) (envelope-from id 1IFdFX-0008DU-S4 for riptide@[My Server]; Mon, 30 Jul 2007 17:58:00 -0400 Received: from WZA-D-001.us.webzen.com (WZA-D-001.us.webzen.com [127.0.0.1]) by WZA-D-001.us.webzen.com (8.13.8/8.13.8) with ESMTP id l6UMUWxQ002240 for So for verification on the IP address, I performed a whois on the address listed in the headers. The whois returned: PaeTec Communications, Inc. PAETECCOMM (NET-66-251-0-0-1) 66.251.0.0 - 66.251.127.255 WEBZEN PAET-AN-WEBZE-1 (NET-66-251-34-80-1) 66.251.34.80 - 66.251.34.95 Then I did a whois on PAET-AN-WEBZE-1 which returned: WEBZEN PAET-AN-WEBZE-1 (NET-66-251-34-80-1) 66.251.34.80 - 66.251.34.95 WEBZEN PAET-AN-WEBZE-1 (NET-63-139-240-240-1) 63.139.240.240 - 63.139.240.255 and finally a whois on NET-66-251-34-80-1 which returned: CustName: WEBZEN Address: 6601 CENTER DR W City: LOS ANGELES StateProv: CA PostalCode: 90045 Country: US RegDate: 2005-09-07 Updated: 2005-09-07 among other information which isn't as important for this. It's one thing to fake a domain's registration info, and a completely different and much more difficult thing to purchase static IP space with fake information, so I believe this to be the real deal since the email obviously came from a mail server located within IP space I verified to be WebZen's. Technically it's still possible for that email to be generated from WebZen's IP space utilizing php email vulnerabilities if someone had found one, but what are the chances that someone went through the trouble of faking their site and a forum and then found an exploit in their site? And for what? To fool a bunch of gamers? Possible, but Occam/Ockham (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Occam's_Razor) says otherwise. I used to work as an intrusion a,nalyst for a managed network security company, and I had to be certified to work there, so I pretty much know what I am talking about (feel free to disagree, though -- I am open to criticism, but expect a technical response). I apologize for this being a bit long winded... I just wanted to dispel more doubts. Last edited by riptide; 31-07-2007 at 01:47 PM. Reason: the word a n a l isn't allowed, and I had to obfuscate the word a:nalyst |
|
|
|
|
|
#48 (permalink) |
|
Super Moderator
![]() |
I'm not registering with them even if they are "official". It's too late for them to try and suck up to the public with goodies.
Think about it. Huxleygame is one of the biggest communities dealing with Huxley, and they wanted a piece of that. They figure if they make a forum, it will bring more attention to them. Personally if the forum is a real deal thing, I think it's pathetic. The site should have been up since the get go, and almost everything in those forums are just being repeated. The only difference is that they have different rules and different moderators. Plus, it's cheaply made.
__________________
I'm here...NO.. I'm there.. NO.. I'm PSYCHOSIS |
|
|
|
|
|
#49 (permalink) |
|
Senior Member
![]() |
so are you not going to bye the game either? Cause with the way that you put it, the release of the game will be a secret ploy to suck up to us with goodies.
The way i look at it is, better late then never. At least they have a forum right? Dont get me wrong i have utmost respect for this site, but id rather be that much closer to the official webzen staff.
__________________
[URL=http://www.ao1huxley.com][img]http://img147.imageshack.us/img147/2333/huxleysig35xc.jpg[/img][/URL] |
|
|
|
|
|
#50 (permalink) | |
|
Super Moderator
![]() |
Quote:
The point is, that they should have already taken care of this kind of stuff already. Another point I made was the fact that people talk about the same thing in these forums. So, the question at hand is, what's your point Sniper?
__________________
I'm here...NO.. I'm there.. NO.. I'm PSYCHOSIS |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#51 (permalink) |
|
Senior Member
![]() |
im just saying, just because they opened up the forums a little late (ok a lot late), doesnt make them "pathetic" as you put it, i guess its just how they want to do things. I dont know about you but i have never followed a game from korea, maybe thats just how they deal with all games.
And the fact that we have talked about everything on these forums, doesnt mean you cant go back and think about it a little more.
__________________
[URL=http://www.ao1huxley.com][img]http://img147.imageshack.us/img147/2333/huxleysig35xc.jpg[/img][/URL] |
|
|
|
|
|
#52 (permalink) |
|
Super Moderator
![]() |
I think it does make them pathetic. Why? Because I have every right to post my opinion just as you do.
Something about them making the forum late doesn't feel right.
__________________
I'm here...NO.. I'm there.. NO.. I'm PSYCHOSIS |
|
|
|
|
|
#53 (permalink) |
|
Senior Member
![]() |
this was just posted
"Thank you for visiting our very early version of the Huxley forums. We are all incredibly excited about the progress the development team is making on the project. Our goal is to ship a game that will exceed expectations. For this reason, we are being very careful about the information and ***ets that we release on the game. What we can share with you is the fact that we have servers in North America running the game and that Huxley looks great! We will be releasing more information on the timing of our closed beta and open beta testing at a later date. We are committed to launching a great game with your support. Best, Huxley Frontline" thats good enough for me
__________________
[URL=http://www.ao1huxley.com][img]http://img147.imageshack.us/img147/2333/huxleysig35xc.jpg[/img][/URL] |
|
|
|
|
|
#55 (permalink) |
|
Senior Member
![]() Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mental Hospital
Posts: 660
![]() |
To my opinion its extremely lame to do so. I mean it's either the game will be extremely bad and the trailers look good and people will think awesome game they buy it but it's super lame and they dont play it... That's one reason why they dont want to release any info on it. I mean how stupid is it to do so? If they want to get fans for the game they got to let some info out cause otherwise people will think... "Ehh another FPS game". For me it's very weird how they want to keep everythnig secretive and not tell anything to anybody cause how good is it for them? If very few people know about the game not many will buy it cause it's like buy a bag with "something" inside never knowing if it's a bomb or money.
Usualy game companies dont give out very much info on the game before it's out yeah i know that so that it will keep people intrested. I mean it's like a trailer of a movie where they show the best parts of the movie and when you watch it it's aint very good. But the Huxleys staff, they release very little info, so little that you have no idea if you'd like the game or not. That's the main reason why i want to try the closed beta, to see if it's a game i like and it's worht to waste my time. I dont know how you guys think but for me this is extremely lame >.>
__________________
Provide solid evidence to convince me otherwise! |
|
|
|
|
|
#56 (permalink) |
|
Senior Member
![]() Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: I HAVE NO CLUE
Posts: 199
![]() |
im not to sure if this is real or not but Huxley Evolved : An Unofficial Huxley Game Fansite - Huxley Versus is now online!
__________________
-HUXLEY- |
|
|
|